Season of Rest

Those familiar with the the story of Mary & Martha can probably identify with either of them. I wish to be more like Mary, but I tend to behave more like Martha. Luke 10:38-42: But the Lord answered her, “Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things, but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.”

“The riches of your love will always be enough. Nothing compares with your embrace.” As I am typing this post, Forever Reign is playing in the background. If I am honest with myself, sometimes I sing these words earnestly, when I follow the sweet melodic tune. But do I truly mean what I sing?

Yesterday as I sat in YWAM’s classroom for the lecture on Listening to God, I was convicted in my heart. I still have fear for hearing what God has to say to me. I have not yet truly understood the meaning of “Luke 10:27: Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind

I have not understood that all I need is Jesus.

I thought I have set myself apart from the world by rejecting materialism and conventional norms of success. But truly I am still keeping my eyes on the world and not fixing them on what Jesus has to offer.

1. I am still subconsciously seeking men’s approval, and not God’s approval. “Galatians 1:10 says For am I now seeking the approval of man, or of God? Or am I trying to please man? If I were still trying to please man, I would not be a servant of Christ.”

2. I am still anxious for the future, even when Jesus said “Matthew 6:25: Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing?”

3. I am still living a me-centered life, instead of a God-centered life. “Matthew 6:33: But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.” and “Romans 12:2: Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.”

In this season of rest, what I need to focus on is to renew my mind and find rest in God. Nothing else matters as much.

John 15:15: I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.

Leave a Reply

