85: Farewell to Tajimi

My 3 weeks in Tajimi have come and gone, swift as the transient cherry blossoms. From barren branches to full bloom, the trees are now sprouting their first shoots, ready for the long year ahead. Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I am so grateful to my sensei, 柴田節郎 for teaching me so much in such a short time and for being ever so kind and thoughtful.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Naoko san and Yumiko san have also shown me so much friendship and hospitality that will continue to inspire me long after I leave Tajimi. I like this picture taken by sensei the tech noob as he tried his best to be a good photographer and successfully captured us in a unique moment of happiness. He even added in some artistic cropping of his own!

IMG_3622

When it is finally time to leave the studio, I feel a little sad at saying goodbye to this place and all my wonderful new friends. I can’t help but wonder when I would see them again. I stand outside the studio, watching the last sunset fall before I leave.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I am especially touched as 3 of the young potter friends have also come to send me off! Together with sensei, we head to a local Japanese Izakaya for oishii dinner.

Kanpai!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Leave a Reply

