100 Happy Days / 89: Farewell!

Yesterday, we sold our very first piece of art.

Over a delicious dinner, my two old schoolmates Lynn and Charles (and their little Natalie) became owners of one of my favorite pieces, a lovely sake set with a teardrop vase and 3 cups. It took me several days to make this set, partly because I’m no master potter, but mostly because it’s such a nice feeling to slowly shape a modest, lumpy piece of clay into something beautiful.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

We had thought of selling some of our pottery pieces to raise funds for our Oxfam Trailwalker Japan 2014 challenge, and since Lynn had said a few months ago that she was looking for a sake set, we decided to give it a shot and see if she would like this. To our relief she did and even offered a good price! So we met up, and at the end of dinner we excitedly tore open the bubble wrap to take a look at the pieces. Seeing the vase again, I realized with a start that this was goodbye. Just a few days after receiving it from the firing kiln, I was to forever part with this creation that I had lovingly molded into existence. I could feel the familiar wave of separation anxiety wash over me, the feeling I always used to get when I made Huiwen a gift, while we were still dating. I didn’t want to sell it anymore! It’s mine!

But then I realized that I was no longer a kid, and we were in a public place, and so with a happy smile and heavy heart I bid my precious vase a final farewell. Have a good life in your new home! And may you be filled often with high spirits, and get many people drunk!

By Kenneth

Leave a Reply

