Mystery Guest

It is a lovely morning. I can hear the birds singing among the trees and the cool breeze is blowing. I am sitting at my wheel, starting the day with some practice. Then I hear something different.

“Chirp, Chirp”

Instinctively, I turn around expecting to see a bird somewhere among my plants. But I see none. I return to my wheel and again, I hear it.

“Chirp, Chirp”

It is so loud, it must be really nearby. I scan the leaves carefully but again I see no bird. Thinking it may be hidden among the taller creeper leaves, I return to my wheel again.

“Chirp, Chirp”

I look up above my head and there it is, staring directly at me with its head cocked to one side. It is making unmistakable eye contact with me.

Bird

Two thoughts simultaneously appear in my head.

“Oh my!”

“So pretty!”

I don’t know about you, but I have never been on a staring match with a bird, or for that matter, with anyone before. I simply cannot win it.

After some seconds, I realise it has stopped chirping and it is just standing above, looking down at me. What in the world is it trying to tell me?

Is it hungry? I quickly walk to my kitchen and grab a slice of wholemeal bread. On the way, I grab my phone  with me.

I wave the bread in front of it and place it down near the plants. It doesn’t look attracted to the bread. Maybe it does not like the health conscious choice.

I take the opportunity and quickly snap as many pictures as I can of this beautiful mystery visitor. I have never seen a bird with such colours and intensity of eye contact before.

“Can you understand what I am saying?” In exasperation at my ineptitude, it continues to cock its head in its trademark manner.

BirdSuddenly, its wings open and then it is gone. My piece of tribute is still on the ledge, untouched.

I try to look up what kind of bird this beautiful creature is, but I cannot seem to find any information. If you know its name or its intentions at this mysterious visit, please be kind and let me know.

Leave a Reply

