To be like Mary

Martha and Mary

Luke 10:38-42 Now as they went on their way, Jesus entered a village. And a woman named Martha welcomed him into her house. And she had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet and listened to his teaching. But Martha was distracted with much serving. And she went up to him and said, “Lord, do you not care that my sister has left me to serve alone? Tell her then to help me.” But the Lord answered her, “Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things, but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.” 

This story is one that gripped my attention from the first time I read it. I identified so much more with Martha, who is distracted and overwhelmed by the many needful things to do; and in the process of desiring to do the right thing, she misses out in recognising that one necessary thing.

I look at Mary of Bethany, who was absorbed sitting at the feet of Jesus, oblivious to anything or anyone else. What is that one necessary thing which is the good portion that Mary has chosen? There are probably many interpretations and personally, I see it as an undivided devotion to Jesus, leading to a desire to not miss any of His teaching or the grace of His presence, and her recognition of what Jesus desired from His disciples – a love that is with all her heart, mind, soul and might.

Mary also did not worry.

I really dislike this old companion – the cloak of worry; at times pockets fill up with objects, at times like a wind of worry; invisible and hard to catch, like the thick air that makes it hard to breathe. Is it really possible to just stop worrying?

O Lord, renew my heart please. I need your help. Liberate me from these chains that I put on myself. I cannot do this on my own feeble strength.

Do I believe, do I have faith that I can infuse these words into the core of my being?

John 14:1 “Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God; believe also in me”

John 14:27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.”

Yes, I believe in you, the Triune God of goodness, peace, joy, mercy and truth.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

